Black Friday Ads 2009 available Online was a Fake
by wildcherry on Friday, October 23rd, 2009 | Business, News
BF Ads sent an email to subscribers yesterday, saying it has posted what appears to be OfficeMax’s 48-item Black Friday ad.
“We originally hesitated on posting this advertisement because it appears to be a very early revision of their Black Friday advertisement. There are multiple misspellings (e.g. “consule” instead of “console” and “brower” instead of “browser”) and bad grammar throughout most of the advertisement,” BFads.net said in its email.
“On the positive side, all of the items look legitimate (correct SKU #’s) and the prices aren’t out of the ordinary for a Black Friday advertisement. ”
But buyer beware. By Friday afternoon the ad had been pulled from the site and there was a link to a cease and desist letter from Office Max’s lawyers.
“Not only is most or all of the information BFads.net is disseminating regarding OfficeMax advertisements and sales false or misleading, such information is also misapproriated OfficeMax confidential information,” the letter states.
BF Ads said it was their first cease and desist letter of 2009 and it “touches on some of the reasons why we were hesitant to post the advertisement in the first place.”
“While we warn that no advertisements released early on this site should be regarded as ‘official,’ the majority we receive turn out to be the final version of the advertisement. This was not the case with OfficeMax’s advertisement and to prevent visitor/buyer confusion, we are cooperating with this Cease & Desist and have removed the advertisement scan along with the item listings.”
|
|
|
![]() |







